Gas Treatment

As a result of urbanization, many residential areas are becoming more exposed to odour-emitting fumes from industrial estates and municipal sewage treatment facilities.

Traditional gas treatment technologies, like absorption by carbon and chemical scrubbers, have been widely used by the industry in the past decade.  However, operators are often faced with drawbacks such as high replacement and disposal costs and chemical consumption costs, as well as the inherent adverse impact to the environment associated with chemical discharge and waste disposal.

Biological trickling filtration technology is a fairly new development that we have applied to treat straightforward foul gas emissions from municipal sewage treatment works, as well as complex industrial emissions.  This technology avoids the drawbacks of environmental chemical consumption and disposal.

We have also developed our in-house capability to design biological trickling filters through pilot tests and co-operation with overseas’ technology partners. The successful application of odour treatment systems in municipal sewage works and pumping stations has undoubtedly demonstrated the environmental benefits of this technology, and it is encouraging that further implementation will be used in other plants and facilities, as well as application in future development projects.

臭氣處理

住宅地區因都巿化問題,越來越容易被工業村及污水處理設施排放的臭氣所籠罩。

傳統氣體處理技術如活性碳吸附法及化學洗滌器等,在過去十多年來已被業界廣泛應用。可是,氣體處理的業界營運者經常會碰到一些不利條件,例如高昂的更換及棄置費用、化學品消耗費用,以及化學物排放及廢物棄置對環境的不良影響。

生物滴濾技術是現今相當嶄新的科技,我們把這項技術應用於處理城巿污水處理廠及較難處理的工廠排放物, 並可有效地減少過多的化學物及棄置物對環境所造成的影響。

我們發展專業技術,不斷進行測試及與海外科技夥伴合作,設計出生物滴濾器。氣味處理系統在城巿的污水處理廠及污水泵站成功運作,毋庸置疑地証明了使用這種科技對環保的好處,也促進研究在其他工廠及設施進一步使用的可能性,以及在將來發展項目上的應用。